Our Schools
Home News September 26 School Board Meeting Highlights

September 26 School Board Meeting Highlights


 At 5 p.m. the Board convened in public session for a workshop to receive an update on the Richland Two Facility Programming Study being conducted by the architect team of Perkins & Will and Quackenbush Associates. At 6 p.m. the Board convened in executive session to discuss student expulsions, appeals, readmission requests; student admission requests into the district’s adult education program; personnel recommendations, releases and in-district transfers; and pending litigation. Public session resumed at 7 p.m.
Student Focus
Ms. Alvera Butler, principal of Joseph Keels Elementary, presented a short video highlighting "Fifty-Eight Years of Excellence." Keels is a School of Entrepreneurial Leadership so the video presented an entrepreneur's perspective.
Special Recognitions
Will Galloway from Blythewood High School and Reagan Davis from Spring Valley High School were recognized for their leadership roles this summer. Galloway was selected as a senator for American Legion Boys Nation in Washington, D.C. and was elected Governor of South Carolina Boys State. Reagan earned the position of Clerk of the Senate at Palmetto Girls State.
The 2017–2018 Teachers of the Year were recognized. They include District Teacher of the Year
Regina Dilley from Spring Valley High School; Honor Roll teachers Raquel Jones from Bethel-Hanberry Elementary, Sarah Hayes from Conder Elementary, Angela Robinson from North Springs Elementary and Erica Leach from E.L. Wright Middle School; and Justin Simpson from Blythewood High, Missy Dissinger from Blythewood Middle, Brandon Schirmer from Bookman Road Elementary, Maria Herron from Bridge Creek Elementary, La’Tanya Shuler from Catawba Trail Elementary, Shamone Claxton from Dent Middle, Melinda Daniels from Forest Lake Elementary, Jasmyne Spain from Keels Elementary, Tamara Lewis-Daniel from Kelly Mill Middle,
Tawanna Coleman from Killian Elementary, Becky Ann Struthers from Lake Carolina Lower, Pat Earle from Lake Carolina Upper, Shannon Woodard from Langford Elementary, Patricia McCormick from Longleaf Middle, Samson Meyer from Muller Road Middle, Shelley Mann from Nelson Elementary, Whitney Chick from Polo Road Elementary, Becky Timmons from Pontiac Elementary, Takenya Atkins from Rice Creek Elementary, DeVita Oliver from Richland Northeast High, Tina McRae from Ridge View High, Mary Kay Herrera from Round Top Elementary, Mary Rumsey from Sandlapper Elementary, Pam Speas from Summit Parkway Middle, Jeff O’Shields from Westwood High, and Jason Ashley from Windsor Elementary.
Voting Items
Consent Agenda
The Board approved the Consent Agenda that included the minutes from the previous meeting; student readmission requests; student admission requests into the district’s Adult Education program; and personnel recommendations; and releases and in-district transfers/promotions.
Policy Revisions
The board approved changes to policies: IHAC (Social Studies Education), BEDL (Board Members & Electronic Communications) *repeat proposal, BDB (Board Officers) *deleting, BDE (Board Committees), BGF (Suspension/Repeal of Policy) *deleting, BHA (Board Member Conflict of Interest) *deleting, BIA/BIB (New Member Orientation/Board Member Development Opportunities), BID (Board Member Compensation & Expenses), BIE (Board Member Insurance/Liability) and BJ (Board Legislative Program). In the same motion, the Board voted to not adopted BJ-E, but to include that information in the Board Handbook under development.
Certification of Delegates for Annual SCSBA Delegate Assembly
The board selected Lindsay Agostini, Amelia McKie, James Shadd as delegates and James Manning as alternate delegates for the Annual SCSBA Delegate Assembly. According to Article V, Section 4 of the SCSBA Constitution:
New Business
Proposed Policy Changes
The Board received proposed changes to Policy EEA (Student Transportation), Policy CA (Administration Goals/Priority Objectives), Policy CB (School Superintendent), Policy CBA (Qualifications of Superintendent), and Policy CBC (Superintendent’s Duties and Responsibilities).
Human Resource Update
Human Resources Chief Shawn C. Williams presented an update on the district’s hiring and recruitment for the 2017-2018 school year.
A complete recording of each board meeting airs on the district’s cable access channel 12 R2TV on Spectrum and on demand anytime through the district’s YouTube channel.