Our Schools
Home News RNE principal named Best Magnet School Leader

RNE principal named Best Magnet School Leader


Dr. Sabrina J. Suber, principal of Richland Northeast High School, received a surprise announcement at the 37th National Conference on Magnet Schools in Baltimore, Maryland earlier this month. Magnet Schools of America (MSA) announced Dr. Suber as the 2019 National Principal of the Year. Under Dr. Suber’s outstanding leadership, Richland Northeast has grown its Career and Technology Education program and made the International Baccalaureate (IB) program available to all students, furthering the school’s professional development plan and improving student learning. 

 “If you ask anyone what my passion is, they will tell you kids. I want every student to leave high school prepared for college, career, or military. This purpose drives everything I do,” said Dr. Suber. “I’m honored to receive this recognition for doing work that I love.”

Richland Two’s Director of Magnet Programs Barbara Turner says Dr. Suber’s IB program is nationally certified and her support for the school’s Convergence Media magnet recently earned her the Dr. Kay Phillips Administrator of the Year award from the Southern Interscholastic Press Association. “These are a testament to her desire to demonstrate excellence in all that she does,” said Turner.

Richland Northeast offers four unique magnet programs: Convergence Media, Palmetto Center for the Arts, Horizon, and the International Baccalaureate School for Middle Years Programme and Diploma Programme.
The magnet conference brought together 1,200 magnet leaders and educators from across the country to celebrate top-performing schools and learn best practices on curriculum, leadership and school design. Richland Two was well-represented with Forest Lake Elementary and Spring Valley High School receiving Magnet School of Excellence awards for the Elementary Learning Collaborative at Forest Lake, and Discovery and Explorations magnets at Spring Valley. Magnet School of Distinction honors went to the NASA Explorer School at Forest Lake, International Baccalaureate Programme at Richland Northeast High and Institute of BioHealth Magnet and Scholars Academy at Ridge View High School.