Our Schools
Home News October 9, 2018 School Board Meeting Highlights

October 9, 2018 School Board Meeting Highlights


At 5:30 p.m., the board convened in executive session to discuss student appeals and student admission requests into the district's Adult Education Program. Public session resumed at 6:30 p.m.
Special Recognitions
The Convergence Media yearbook staff at Richland Northeast High School was recognized for outstanding achievement on the Archives Yearbook.  The yearbook was selected to be inducted into the Walsworth Gallery of Excellence.  Staff members are Gracie Boyce, Joshua Boyd, Donnovan Braden, Laurel Davis, Natalia Davis, Deidre Hiltner, Semaj Holloway-Adams, Jamiyah Jenkins, Maham Khan, Christian Livingston, Iqraa Mashreque, Jay Price, Ella Rayl, Aleyse Scarborough, Kenya Session, Hannah Shimmel, Mya Tribble, Calan Watkins, Caroline Williamson, Lance Wilson and Helen Yeung.
The 2018 – 2019 Richland Two Teachers of the Year were honored.
  • Sue Weems*, District Teacher of the Year, Blythewood High School
  • Patricia Mack, Bethel-Hanberry Elementary
  • Paige Malone, Bookman Road Elementary
  • Mary Kathryn Burbank*, Honor Roll Teacher of the Year, Catawba Trail Elementary
  • LaChe’ Williams*, Honor Roll Teacher of the Year, Conder Elementary
  • Elizabeth McKenna, Forest Lake Elementary
  • Tonya Gamble, Keels Elementary
  • Tracy Mitchel, Killian Elementary
  • Felicia Lewis, Lake Carolina Elementary Lower
  • Dina Knight, Lake Carolina Elementary Upper
  • Blair Hanley, Langford Elementary
  • Kenyetta Gallman, Nelson Elementary
  • Erin Sandusky, North Springs Elementary
  • Flo Jackson, Polo Road Elementary
  • Lisa Rayner*, Honor Roll Teacher of the Year, Pontiac Elementary
  • Shayna Mitchell, Rice Creek Elementary
  • Tamara Silva, Round Top Elementary
  • Christina York, Windsor Elementary
  • Jill Lee*, Honor Roll Teacher of the Year, Blythewood Middle
  • Freda Medlock, Dent Middle
  • Donna Petty, E.L. Wright Middle
  • Courtney Robinson, Kelly Mill Middle
  • Kimberly Jeter, Longleaf Middle
  • Brandi Ross, Muller Road Middle
  • Keshia Clay, Summit Parkway Middle
  • Justin Simpson, Blythewood High
  • Desirae House, Richland Northeast High
  • Brooke Bedenbaugh, Ridge View High
  • Stephen Cross, Spring Valley High
  • Angela Hill, Westwood High
Superintendent Dr. Baron Davis received the Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve South Carolina Division’s Patriot Award.
Kelly Mill Middle principal Mark Sims received the Patriotic Employer award for supporting our National Guard and Reserve Force Troops.
Richland Two educational office professionals were honored for their leadership roles in the National Association of Educational Office Professionals. Elected to positions on the NAEOP Executive Board are Jill Averyhart, President Elect; Georgette Council, Administrative Council Chairman; Paula Rosenberger, Mid-Atlantic Area Director and Louise Snipes, Middle/Jr. High School Council Chairman. Office professionals earning national certification credentials are Shavon Fulton from the District Office at Brookfield, Georgina Hance from Blythewood High School, Anita Heyward from Blythewood High School and Veronica Watkins from Killian Elementary. Lesa Failla from Muller Road Middle School earned NAEOP recertification.
School Focus
Lake Carolina Upper Elementary Principal Jeff Williams introduced The “Lake Shake,” an annual school tradition that focuses on developing the social and creative skills of students through community partnerships. Click here to watch the presentation.
Voting Items
Consent Agenda — The Board approved the Consent Agenda, which included minutes from the meeting on September 25.
Executive Session Items — The Board voted on items from executive session including student appeals and a student admission request into the district's Adult Education Program.
Policy Revisions — The Board approved Policy Revisions DDB (Online Fundraising Campaigns/Crowdfunding), DI.DIE (Fiscal Accounting/Audits [NEW]), DKC Expense Authorization Reimbursements), AC (Non-discrimination/Equal Opportunity), GBA (Open Hiring/Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action), GCE (Professional Staff Recruitment), GCEC (Posting and Advertising of Professional Vacancies), GCF (Professional Staff Hiring) and GDF (Support Staff Hiring).
Community Eligibility Provision of the Healthy, Hunger-free Kids Act of 2010 — The board voted to adopt a resolution to participate in the Community Eligibility Provision of the Healthy, Hunger-free Kids Act of 2010 as outlined by the South Carolina Department of Education.
No-Action Requested Items
Policy Revisions — The Board received proposed changes to DDB (Online Fundraising Campaigns/Crowdfunding), GCO (Evaluation of Administrative Staff) and GCC/GDC (Employee Personal Leaves and Absences).