Our Schools
Home News Oct. 24, 2017 School Board meeting highlights

Oct. 24, 2017 School Board meeting highlights

At 6 p.m. after calling the meeting to order, the Board convened in executive session to discuss student expulsions; student appeals; student admission requests into the district’s Adult Education program; student readmission requests into the district for the 2017-2018 School Year; personnel recommendations, releases and in-district transfers. At 7 p.m., the Board reconvened in public session.
Student Focus
Killian Elementary School Principal Stacey Franklin and fifth-grade students highlighted the school’s STEAM and AVID programs.
Special Recognition
District students and staff were recognized for their achievements. A list is included at the end of the highlights.
Voting Items

Consent Agenda — The Board approved the Consent Agenda that included the minutes from the previous meeting; student admission requests into the district’s Adult Education program; personnel recommendations, releases and in-district transfers/promotions; and student readmission requests for the 2017-2018 School Year.

Policy Revisions — The board approved changes to policies: CBD (Superintendent's Contract), CBI (Evaluation of Superintendent), CC (Administrative Organization), CCA (Organization Chart (new)), CCB (Line & Staff Relations).
Updated Procurement Exemptions List — The Board approved a request by district administration to update the items listed under Section 1-103-Exemptions to the District Procurement Code. These changes were requested to bring the District’s exemptions list more in line with the South Carolina State Procurement list of exemptions and to give a clearer explanation for each exemption.   This list was originally created in September 2006 when the Procurement Code was adopted and approved.
Arthur Newton, director of elementary instruction, provided a report on Act 284, also known as Read to Succeed. Beginning with the 2017-2018 school year, third-grade students who score at the lowest achievement level will be retained. There are some exceptions to The goal is to ensure that all students receive high-quality literacy instruction and has the opportunity to increase their reading proficiency.
The board received proposed changes to policies for first reading: ADA (School District Goals and Objectives), CF (Hiring of School Principals/Building Administrators), CFA (School Principals/Building Administrators), CFC (Assignment and Transfer of School Administrators).
A complete recording of each board meeting airs on the district’s cable access Channel 12 R2TV on Spectrum and on demand anytime through the district’s YouTube channel.

Board Meeting Special Recognitions

October 24, 2017
  • Students from three high schools were recognized for earning Gold Medals on the 2017 World Language National Exam.  Winners are Geraldo Bracete, Kisha-Michelle Jackson, Malika Lightbourne and Jose Armas Reyes from Ridge View High School; Ethan Goodman, Isak Jatoi, Kristina Trifonova and Eloise Lamie from Spring Valley High School and Jacqueline Lara from Westwood High School.
  • Tyler Abernathy from Blythewood Middle School was elected to the Board of Directors for the Upper Midlands District of the South Carolina ASCD.
  • Twelve Richland Two employees, including superintendent Dr. Baron Davis, received national recognition from the National Association of Educational Office Professionals.  Dr. Davis was selected as the National Educational Administrator of the Year, Louise Snipes was selected as the National Educational Office Professional of the Year and ten office professionals were certified or recertified as Certified Educational Office Employees.  They are Jennifer Hedrick, Alice Leeper, Luke Luesing, Tracy Martin, Dee Dee Milakovich, Shaniqua Staples, April Turner, Delores Williams, Angela McDowell and Kezia Terrell.
  • Ridge View High School was recognized for winning a 2017 Golden Achievement Award from the National School Public Relations Association for its Bojangles’ Bash basketball showcase.  Dr. Brenda Mack-Foxworth, Brian Rosefield, Wendi Wimmer, Melissa Myers and Joe Polek received certificates for their work on this successful event.
  • Three schools were honored for earning national certification from Magnet Schools of America. North Springs Elementary for its STEMS magnet program, E.L.  Wright Middle School for the International Baccalaureate World School Middle Years Programme and the Leadership Academy at Wright and Richland Northeast High School for the International Baccalaureate World School.