Our Schools
Home News Sandlapper Elementary principal named

Sandlapper Elementary principal named


At the board meeting on Tuesday, October 25, 2017, Superintendent Baron Davis recommended and the Richland School District Two Board of Trustees approved the promotion of Connie May to principal of Sandlapper Elementary, effective January 1, 2018. Linda S. Hall, the school’s current principal, will retire on December 31, 2017.

“An extremely talented and skilled group of Richland Two assistant principals stepped forward to be considered for the unique role of leading a transition during the school year. I’m so proud of all the candidates for being willing to demonstrate their commitment to sustaining excellence in this way,” said Dr. Davis.

“After conducting a thorough search process, which included an opportunity for school staff to give input on qualities to look for in the next principal as well as employee and parent representation on a panel, I was extremely proud and excited to recommend Connie May as the next principal of Sandlapper Elementary. Mrs. May is eager to build on the success of this Leader in Me Lighthouse School and to use her knowledge, skills and experience to help students pursue their purposeful pathways,” said Dr. Davis.

Mrs. May currently serves as an assistant principal at L.W. Conder Integrated Arts Magnet Elementary School, a position she has held since 2013. She started teaching in Richland Two in 1999 at E.L. Wright Middle School. In 2005, she moved to Kelly Mill Middle School and in 2008 she was promoted to the school’s lead teacher for the INC.-Magnet Program. May’s educational career began in 1994 in Richland School District One at Hyatt Park Elementary.

In 1994, May graduated from Methodist University with two degrees: a Bachelor of Arts in history and a Bachelor of Science in elementary education. She earned a master’s in curriculum and instruction and her administration certification from the University of Scranton. May’s professional affiliations include memberships in the South Carolina Association of School Administrators, the South Carolina Council of Teachers of Mathematics, the South Carolina Alliance of Black School Educators and the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development.