Our Schools
Home News College-Sponsored National Merit Scholarship Winners Announced

College-Sponsored National Merit Scholarship Winners Announced


Seven Richland School District Two graduates have been named College-Sponsored National Merit Scholarship winners. These high-achieving students were among the 3,200 winners announced by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation earlier this month. The students are: Blythewood High School graduates David Houston and Colton Kelly, who will both attend Clemson University this fall; Spring Valley High School graduates Jacob Brock, Luke Marazzo and Rishishankar Suresh, who will attend the University of South Carolina; Frederick A. Drescher, who will attend Clemson University; and Lisa Qu, who will attend the University of Chicago.

Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the finalists in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

College-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners are a part of the distinguished group of about 7,500 high school seniors who will receive National Merit Scholarships for college undergraduate study worth over $32 million. Earlier this spring, NMSC announced winners of corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards and National Merit $2500 Scholarships.