Home Departments Teaching & Learning Standards & Curriculum

Standards & Curriculum

The focus of each learner’s experience in Richland School District Two is the South Carolina Standards, 21st century skills and other learnings that may be identified in the curriculum as being essential for all students to know, understand and be able to do. 
 
Standards set clear, high expectations for student achievement.  They tell what students need to do in order to progress through school on grade level. Instruction in every school in the state is based on the same academic standards.
 
The Profile of the SC Graduate lays out the skills, knowledge, and life and career characteristics expected of a graduate in an easy to understand graphic. 


Elementary Instruction


Arthur Newton

​Director of Elementary Instruction
​anewton@richland2.org
803.738.3254

​Angel Brown

​Elementary Social Studies Specialist
​abrown@richland2.org
​803.237.6912

​Becca Doswell

Elementary English Language Arts Specialist
​sdoswell@richland2.org
803.237.5078

​Ed Emmer

Elementary Science and Health Content Specialist
eemmer@richland2.org  
​803.609.2081

​Carol Sample

Elementary Mathematics Specialist
​csample@richland2.org
803.348.3355

​Alice Shawen

​English Language Arts Specialist 
​ashawen@richland2.org
803.609.1843

​Elizabeth Waters

​Elementary Mathematics Specialist
​ewaters@richland2.org
​803.237.2854

Megan Hefner

Administrative Assistant
mhefner@richland2.org
803.738.3257


Middle School Instruction

 

Dr. Marsha Moseley

​Director of Middle School Instruction
​mmoseley@richland2.org
803.738.3336

​​Dena Fender

Science Specialist
​dspickard@richland2.org
803.760.8981

​Alisa Long

​Social Studies Specialist
​allong@richland2.org
​803.638.1004

​Kari Meldrum

School Math Specialist
​kmeldrum@richland2.org
​803.237.9783

​Dywanna Smith

​English Language Arts Specialist
​dysmith@richland2.org
803.728.5387

Megan Hefner

Administrative Assistant
mhefner@richland2.org
803.738.3257

 


High School Instruction

 

Marriah Schwallier

​Director of High School Instruction
​mschwallier@richland2.org
803.738.3273

​Matt Owens

High School Math Specialist
mowens@richland2.org
​803.728.5543

Jessica Miller

High School ELA Specialist
Email: jmiller@richland2.org
Phone: 803.429.4882

Dena Spickard Fender

Middle/High School Science Specialist
Middle/High Health
dspickard@richland2.org
​803.760.8981

Alicia Lewis

Westwood High School
World Languages Lead Teacher
​alewis@richland2.org 
​803.691.4049

Sarah Jane Harris

Administrative Assistant
​saharris@richland2.org
​803.738.3248

Our Schools