Our Schools
Home Departments Teaching & Learning Standards & Curriculum

Standards & Curriculum

The focus of each learner’s experience in Richland School District Two is the South Carolina Standards, 21st century skills and other learnings that may be identified in the curriculum as being essential for all students to know, understand and be able to do. 
 
Standards set clear, high expectations for student achievement.  They tell what students need to do in order to progress through school on grade level. Instruction in every school in the state is based on the same academic standards.
 
The Profile of the SC Graduate lays out the skills, knowledge, and life and career characteristics expected of a graduate in an easy to understand graphic. 


Elementary Instruction


Arthur Newton

​Director of Elementary Instruction
​anewton@richland2.org
803.738.3254

​Angel Brown

​Elementary Social Studies Specialist
​abrown@richland2.org
​803.237.6912

​Jessica Burkett

Elementary Literacy Specialist
jburkett@richland2.org
803.609.2081

​Ed Emmer

Elementary Science and Health Content Specialist
eemmer@richland2.org  
​803.609.2081

​Carol Sample

Elementary Mathematics Specialist
​csample@richland2.org
803.348.3355

​Elizabeth Waters

​Elementary Mathematics Specialist
​ewaters@richland2.org
​803.237.2854

Administrative support provided by Ashley Ford

aford@richland2.org
803.738.3257


Middle School Instruction

 

Penelope Atkinson

​Director of Middle School Instruction
​patkinson@richland2.org
803.738.3336

​​Dena Fender

Middle/High Science and Health Specialist
​dspickard@richland2.org
803.760.8981

​Elizabeth King

​Middle/High Social Studies Specialist
​allong@richland2.org
​803.920.5226

​Kari Meldrum

Middle Level Math Specalist
​kmeldrum@richland2.org
​803.237.9783

Erica Leach

Middle Level ELA Specalist
​eleach@richland2.org
803.728.5387

Administrative support provided by Ashley Ford

aford@richland2.org
803.738.3257

 


High School Instruction

 

Emily Manigault

​Director of High School and Virtual Instruction
emanigau@richland2.org
803.738.3273

Melinda Lee

High School Math Specialist
melee@richland2.org
​803.920.2590

Jessica Miller

High School ELA Specialist
Email: jmiller@richland2.org
Phone: 803.429.4882

Dena Spickard Fender

Middle/High Science and Health Specialist
dspickard@richland2.org
​803.760.8981

Mary Paige Boyce

Director of College & Career Initiatives
​​mboyce@richland2.org
803.738.3276

Linda Thompson

Parent Career Services
lthompso@richland2.org
803.738.3243

Administrative support provided by Gail Ross

gross@richland2.org
803.738.3280


Special Projects, State and Federal Programs

 

Shawn Suber

Director of Special Projects, State & Federal Programs
shsuber@richland2.org
803.738.3277

Wendy Campbell

Fine Arts Coordinator
wcampbell@richland2.org
803.920.2791