Our Schools

Standards & Curriculum

The focus of each learner’s experience in Richland School District Two is the South Carolina Standards, 21st century skills and other learnings that may be identified in the curriculum as being essential for all students to know, understand and be able to do. 
 
Standards set clear, high expectations for student achievement.  They tell what students need to do in order to progress through school on grade level. Instruction in every school in the state is based on the same academic standards.
 
The Profile of the SC Graduate lays out the skills, knowledge, and life and career characteristics expected of a graduate in an easy to understand graphic. 


Elementary Instruction

Arthur Newton

Executive Director of Elementary Instruction
​anewton@richland2.org
803.738.3254

​Jennifer Burgos - Carnes

ELA/Social Studies Content Specialist
jcarnes@richland2.org
803.738.3373

​Stephanie Harrell

ELA/Social Studies Content Specialist
sharrell@richland2.org  
​803.738.3372

​Ed Emmer

Elementary Science and Health Content Specialist
eemmer@richland2.org  
​803.738.3376

​Kristen Johnson

Elementary Mathematics Specialist
​kjohnson@richland2.org
803.738.3374

​Elizabeth Waters

​Elementary Mathematics Specialist
​ewaters@richland2.org
​803.738.3375

Administrative support provided by Kathleen Rutherford

krutherford@richland2.org
803.738.3257


Middle School Instruction

Penelope Atkinson

Executive Director of Secondary Instruction
​patkinson@richland2.org
803.738.3336

​​Dena Fender

Middle/High Science and Health Specialist
​dfender@richland2.org
803.738.3382

​Crystal Whitaker

​Middle/High Social Studies Specialist
crwhitaker@richland2.org
​803.738.8474

​Kari Meldrum

Middle Level Math Specialist
​kmeldrum@richland2.org
​803.738.3378

Erica Leach

Middle Level ELA Specialist
​eleach@richland2.org
803.738.3380

Melinda Lee

High School Math Specialist
melee@richland2.org
​803.738.3352

Charrai Hunter

High School ELA Specialist
chhunter@richland2.org
803.738.3377

Administrative support provided by Kathleen Rutherford

krutherford@richland2.org
803.738.3257